announcing the Obermayer German Jewish History Awards for 2017 #general

Arthur Obermayer <obermayer@...>

The Obermayer Foundation, in cooperation with the President of the
Berlin House of Representatives, the Leo Baeck Institute, and GerSIG, is
pleased to announce the Call for Nominations for the 2017 Obermayer
German Jewish History Awards.

In recent decades, many individuals in Germany have raised awareness of
a once-vibrant Jewish history and culture in their communities through
educational programs exhibitions, restoration of synagogues and
cemeteries, installation of Holocaust memorials and Stolpersteine,
genealogical research, development of websites, publications, public
programs, and other activities. Many have assisted genealogists
extensively, and their publications and research are of great value to
us. They have forged meaningful relationships with former residents and
descendants of those who once lived in their towns. They are teachers
and engineers, publishers and judges, artists and bankers, lawyers and
business executives, and they come >from every region of the country.
These volunteers have devoted countless hours to such projects. The
Obermayer Awards recognize and encourage those who have been devoted to
such activities and bring international attention to their work. Five
awardees are honored each year.

The awards were established in 2000 by Dr. Arthur Obermayer, an American
Jewish businessman and visionary philanthropist who died in January
2016. Karen Franklin was recently appointed as the president of the
awards program.

While prior awards were limited to individuals, this year nominations
are also being accepted for organizations. Previously much of this type
of work was done by individuals, but many Jewish history initiatives
supported by organizations have sprung up in recent years. Awards to
organizations will be presented to a single representative of the

The call for nominations can be obtained at .
The deadline for submission is September 21, 2016.


Awards are presented to non-Jewish Germans living in Germany. Their
contributions are evaluated for public impact, educational relevance,
enduring value. The activities shall not have been done as part of
regular professional work, for monetary reward, or for fulfillment of an
academic requirement. The scope of work outlined in the profiles of
previous recipients may be used as a guideline; other significant
contributions are also welcome.

Many of you previously submitted nominations. Those nominees who were
not successful may be eligible for this year’s awards by submitting an
updated application. Instructions may be found on the Obermayer web site .

The award ceremony will take place in Berlin on January 23, 2017 at the
Abgeordnetenhaus, the home of the Berlin Parliament. Travel and hotel
expenses for awardees and their spouses will be covered. Successful
nominators are also invited to attend all of the award ceremony events
in Berlin, where they will meet with the award recipients they have
chosen to honor.

Awardees will receive an honorarium to be used for the furtherance of
their work. The awards receive extensive press coverage in the awardees'
communities, throughout Germany and internationally (see

If you would like to submit a nomination, additional information,
including the Call for Nominations and profiles of previous award
winners and the jury, can be obtained at: .

You may obtain a hard copy of the Call for Nominations by sending an
email request to:

or a letter to the:

Obermayer Foundation
15 Grey Stone Path
Dedham, MA 02026 USA

Remember that the deadline for submission of nominations is September
21, 2016.

Betty Solbjor (on behalf of the Obermayer Foundation)
Dedham, MA

Join to automatically receive all group messages.