Announcing the 2019 Obermayer German Jewish History Awards #general

Arthur Obermayer <obermayer@...>

The Obermayer Foundation, in cooperation with the President of the Berlin House of
Representatives, the Leo Baeck Institute, and GerSIG, is pleased to announce the
Call for Nominations for the 2019 Obermayer German Jewish History Awards.

In recent decades, many individuals and organizations in Germany have worked
creatively and selflessly to preserve, raise awareness of, and breathe new life
into the once-vibrant Jewish culture in their communities. Their work crosses many
realms including historical restoration, research, storytelling, education, art,
and community building. Together, these efforts are making history and some of its
most profound lessons accessible to current-day audiences.

The Obermayer Foundation recognizes the critical importance of these individuals
and organizations, and honors them through its awards program, held each year since

The work of awardees has included such activities as:
Restoration of synagogues, cemeteries, and other cultural sites
Researching and synthesizing first-person accounts, histories, and genealogies
Informal education and storytelling via public programs and exhibitions
Formal educational activities focused on schools and other education institutions
Development of websites, videos, publications, and other media
Musical/dramatic performance or artistic creation
Installation of Holocaust memorials and stolpersteine
Forging connections with the descendants of former residents of a community or

The award program was initiated by Dr. Arthur S. Obermayer (1931-2016). Awards are
administered by the Obermayer Foundation. Karen Franklin is president of the jury.

The call for nominations can be obtained at The deadline for submission
is September 12, 2018.

Nominees' contributions are evaluated for public impact, educational
relevance and enduring value. Nominees may have done the work either
largely on a volunteer basis or gone far beyond what would be expected
from their paid, professional, or academic work.
The scope of work outlined in the profiles of previous recipients may be
used as a guideline; other significant contributions are also welcome.

Many of you previously submitted nominations. Those nominees who were
not successful may be eligible for this year's awards by submitting an
updated application. Instructions may be found on the Obermayer web site

The formal award ceremony will take place in Berlin on January 21, 2019
at the Abgeordnetenhaus, the home of the Berlin Parliament, and it is
preceded by a banquet the previous evening. Recordings of recent
ceremonies are available on our YouTube Channel

The award ceremony will take place in Berlin on January 21, 2019 at the
Abgeordnetenhaus, the home of the Berlin Parliament. Travel and hotel
expenses for awardees and their spouses will be covered. Successful nominators are
also invited to attend all of the award ceremony events in Berlin, where they will
meet with the award recipients they have chosen to honor.

Awardees will receive an honorarium to be used for the furtherance of
their work. The ceremony and the awards receive extensive press coverage
in the awardees' communities, throughout Germany, and internationally

Travel, hotel and banquet expenses for awardees and one guest will be
reimbursed.Successful nominators are also invited to attend all of the
award ceremony events in Berlin.

Contact information
For additional information, see If you would like to
submit a nomination, additional information, including the Call for Nominations and
profiles of previous award winners and the jury, can be obtained at:

You may obtain a hard copy of the Call for Nominations by sending an
email request to:

germanaward@gmail.comĀ or a letter to the:
Obermayer Foundation
15 Grey Stone Path
Dedham, MA 02026 USA

Remember that the deadline for submission of nominations is September 12, 2018.

Betty Solbjor (on behalf of the Obermayer Foundation)
Dedham, MA

Join to automatically receive all group messages.