Jewish genealogy awards - "Four Questions" and some reminders #latinamerica

Renee Steinig <rsteinig@...>

It's the time of year when thoughts turn to Passover -- and to the
awards our community bestows for achievements in Jewish genealogy.
So I pose these "Four Questions" to all of you:

1) What coveted award have Warren Blatt, Stanley Diamond, Susan
King, and Miriam Weiner all received?

2) For what achievement have Yad Vashem, Alexander Beider,
Stephen Morse, and the JewishGen Yizkor Book Project been

3) Why and when have kudoes gone to David Fox and to the JGSs of
Los Angeles, Montreal, and Ottawa.

4) The JGSs of Greater Philadelphia, New York, Palm Beach County,
and Los Angeles have been honored for excellence in what area?

For answers, see the lists of distinquished winners of IAJGS's
past Achievement Awards at

Since 1998, the Jewish genealogy community has acknowledged
important contributions by individuals and groups with IAJGS
Achievement Awards, presented annually by the International
Association of Jewish Genealogical Societies. Thank you to all
who have already submitted nominations for the 2006 awards. For
those who haven't completed their nominations yet, here are some

o Awards are given in four categories:

Lifetime Achievement Award

Outstanding Contribution to Jewish Genealogy via the
Internet, Print or Electronic Product

Outstanding Programming or Project that Advances the
Objectives of Jewish Genealogy

Outstanding Publication by a Member Organization of IAJGS

o The Call for Nominations appears at
Please be sure to click on each award category for criteria
for that award.

o Although nominations must come to the Awards Committee >from
an IAJGS member organization (,
we encourage JewishGenners to be part of the process. Please
look at the lists of past recipients and ask yourself a fifth
question: "Who else belongs here?" If you have benefited >from
a wonderful project, internet resource, publication, or
programming that isn't listed, let your JGS know and propose a
nomination -- this year if you and they can hurry, or for 2007.

o Societies are welcomed -- in fact, urged -- to nominate their
own publications, projects, and projects. Don't be shy!

o Nominations for the 2006 IAJGS Achievement Awards should be
submitted by April 1, 2006. We encourage you to get your 2006
nominations in and to start thinking about next year's awards
as well.

o Awards will be announced and presented on Thursday, August 17,
at the 26th IAJGS International Conference on Jewish Genealogy
in New York City.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact me.


Renee Stern Steinig
OR RS1205@...

... for the 2006 IAJGS Achievement Awards Committee

Carol Davidson Baird (Past President, San Diego JGS)
Hal Bookbinder (Immediate Past President, IAJGS)
Joel Spector (Secretary, IAJGS)
Renee Stern Steinig, Chair (Vice President, JGS of Long Island)
Ignacio Sternberg (President, Asociacion de Genealogia Judia de Venezuela)

Join { to automatically receive all group messages.