German SIG #Germany Announcing the 2019 Obermayer German Jewish History Awards #germany


The Obermayer Foundation, in cooperation with the President of the
Berlin House of Representatives, the Leo Baeck Institute, and GerSIG,
is pleased to announce the Call for Nominations for the 2019 Obermayer
German Jewish History Awards.

In recent decades, many individuals and organizations in Germany have
worked creatively and selflessly to preserve, raise awareness of, and
breathe new life into the once-vibrant Jewish culture in their communities.

Their work crosses many realms including historical restoration, research,
storytelling, education, art, and community building. Together, these
efforts are making history and some of its most profound lessons accessible
to current-day audiences.

The Obermayer Foundation recognizes the critical importance of these
individuals and organizations, and honors them through its awards
program, held each year since 2000.

The work of awardees has included such activities as:

Restoration of synagogues, cemeteries, and other cultural sites;

Researching and synthesizing first-person accounts, histories, and genealogies;

Informal education and storytelling via public programs and exhibitions;

Formal educational activities focused on schools & other education institutions;

Development of websites, videos, publications, and other media;

Musical/dramatic performance or artistic creation;

Installation of Holocaust memorials and stolpersteine;

Forging connections with the descendants of former residents of a community
or region;

The award program was initiated by Dr. Arthur S. Obermayer (1931-2016).
Awards are administered by the Obermayer Foundation. GerSIG co-founder
Karen Franklin is president of the jury.

The call for nominations can be obtained at:

The deadline for submission is September 12, 2018.

Nominees' contributions are evaluated for public impact, educational
relevance and enduring value. Nominees may have done the work either
largely on a volunteer basis or gone far beyond what would be expected
from their paid, professional, or academic work.
The scope of work outlined in the profiles of previous recipients may be
used as a guideline; other significant contributions are also welcome.

Many of you previously submitted nominations. Those nominees who were
not successful may be eligible for this year's awards by submitting an
updated application. Instructions may be found on the Obermayer web site:

The formal award ceremony will take place in Berlin on January 21, 2019
at the Abgeordnetenhaus, the home of the Berlin Parliament, and it is
preceded by a banquet the previous evening. Recordings of recent
ceremonies are available on our YouTube Channel:

Travel and hotel expenses for awardees and their spouses will be
covered. Successful nominators are also invited to attend all of
the award ceremony events in Berlin, where they will meet with
the award recipients they have chosen to honor.

Awardees will receive an honorarium to be used for the furtherance of
their work. The ceremony and the awards receive extensive press coverage
in the awardees' communities, throughout Germany, and internationally


For additional information, see
If you would like to submit a nomination, additional information,
including the Call for Nominations and profiles of previous award
winners and the jury, can be obtained at:

You may obtain a hard copy of the Call for Nominations by sending an
email request to: or a letter to the:

Obermayer Foundation
15 Grey Stone Path
Dedham, MA 02026 USA

Remember that the deadline for submission of nominations is September 12, 2018.

Betty Solbjor, Dedham, MA (on behalf of the Obermayer Foundation)

Join to automatically receive all group messages.