Forum for Dialogue Session with Gombin (Gąbin) Jewish Historical and Genealogical Society #poland


Mark Halpern
 

Calling all Gombiners and others with interest in preserving Polish Jewish heritage to join the Forum for Dialogue and the Gombiner Society as explained below. This Zoom program will start on Wednesday, June 9 at 1 pm in New York and 7 pm in Warsaw.

Mark Halpern


 
 

Dear Mark,

I would like to invite you to a Zoom in on the Forum session with representatives of the Gombin Jewish Historical & Genealogical Society, an organization devoted to preserving the legacy of Jewish history and culture in Gabin, Poland. Join us for a conversation with Bernard GuyerDana Boll, and Lindsey Max who will discuss their efforts to reconnect to the town of their ancestors and instill a sense of shared responsibility and community among generations of Gombiners. Listen to their stories of involvement in genealogical and historical research and of returning to Gabin to preserve the heritage of Jewish community. Each of our guests will shed light on the different activities pursued by the Gombiners: the reemergence of Gombin Society in 1996, the creation of a theater play based on a story of a family from Gabin, and the onboarding of new members and generations into Society's mission.
 
Join us on Wednesday, June 9th, at 5 am Australian Eastern, 10 am Pacific, 12 pm Central, 1 pm Eastern, 7 pm Warsaw, 8 pm Tel-Aviv time to hear the stories of three generations of Gombiners. 

REGISTER FOR THE ZOOM

The guests of this Zoom in on the Forum session are members of the Gombin Society representing three generations of Gombiners associated with the organization. Bernard Guyer is a retired pediatrician and public health professor at Johns Hopkins University, whose mother and father were from Gabin. He first returned to Gabin in 1998 and is currently President of the Gombin Jewish Historical & Genealogical Society. Dana Boll is a theatre artist and playwright based in New York City, whose paternal grandparents escaped from Gabin to Russia after the outbreak of the Second World War. She captured their story in her play Bella's Dream. Dana has visited Poland several times and is a member of the Gombin Society Board. Lindsey Max is a graduate of Emory University and Savannah College of Art and Design and interned at the Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage. She recently joined the Gombin Society Board and has yet to visit Gabin.
 
On the same day, few hours before the Zoom in on the Forum session - at 7 am Pacific, 9 am Central, 10 am Eastern, 4 pm Warsaw, 5 pm Tel-Aviv time, you can join our guests and other members of the Gombin Society for the Unveiling of the Commemorative Board recognizing Gabin's once vibrant Jewish community. This live event will take place in Gabin with the Mayor and Polish guests, while other Polish and international guests will be joining and communicating online.

I am looking forward to seeing you on those events! 

Yours,
Olga

Olga Kaczmarek
Director General

Join main@groups.jewishgen.org to automatically receive all group messages.