This Sunday: From Cobblers to Cosmopolitans: The Baruch Lousada Story #sephardic


contact@...
 

How did a family of local Portuguese cobblers become merchants on the world
stage? Julian Land tells the story of his research on the Baruch Lousada
family. He will discuss nine members of this illustrious lineage, as we
follow the Baruch Lousada from brushes with the Inquisition to the founding
of Bevis Marks, commercial success in the Caribbean, and ennoblement in
Spain. The family is a classic example of how Sephardic families spread
across the globe.

Julian Land trained in theoretical physics and mathematics followed by a
thirty year career in commercial client relations with Australia's national
science research corporation, CSIRO. He descends for the Lousada family and
runs the popular www.barrow-lousada.org website.

The meeting is on 24 October 2021 at 11am in LA, 2pm NYC, 7pm London, 8pm
Paris/Amsterdam and 9pm Jerusalem. Patrons can join us on Zoom. The link is
shared at our Patreon page at: https://www.patreon.com/sephardi

Everyone is invited to join us for free at:
https://www.youtube.com/SephardicGenealogyAndHistory/ Please subscribe to
the YouTube channel. It helps us a lot and reminds you when we are going
live!

Best wishes,

David Mendoza and Ton Tielen
Sephardic World

Join main@groups.jewishgen.org to automatically receive all group messages.