Origins of the Sephardic Mendoza family - Sunday Meeting #sephardic


contact@...
 

The Mendoza family of London is believed to be the largest in the Western
Sephardic diaspora, with members scattered around the world. In many
respects, it is a typical example of a poor Western Sephardic family. What
are the origins? What do we know and what do we not know? Using DNA and
archival records from Spain, Portugal, the Netherlands and England, David
Mendoza will present a speculative history of the family from pre-history to
1750s London.

David Mendoza has a background in business-to-business market research and
developing statistical models of markets. He was (then) the youngest person
elected to a committee of the UK's Market Research Society and is a Fellow
of the Royal Geographical Society. For the last few years he has worked as a
professional genealogist. With Ton Tielen he hosts the weekly Sephardic
World talks.

The meeting is on Sunday 3 July 2022 at 11am in LA, 2pm NYC, 7pm London, 8pm
Paris/Amsterdam and 9pm Jerusalem. Patrons can join us on Zoom. The link is
shared at our Patreon page at: https://www.patreon.com/sephardi Everyone is
welcome to join us on YouTube at:
https://www.youtube.com/SephardicGenealogyAndHistory PLEASE subscribe to the
YouTube channel. It helps us a lot and costs you nothing.

Watch our last speaker, Carol Castiel, discuss The Moroccan Jews of Cabo
Verde - Preservation of Memory. https://youtu.be/PTZzkMiH2O4

Over the last two years Sephardic World has become the leading forum for
learning about Sephardic history and genealogy. We have no commercial
sponsorship or public funding. There is no charge to attend our meetings or
to view our content. If you are not a patron and can afford it, please
consider supporting our work.

Best wishes,

David Mendoza and Ton Tielen
Sephardic Genealogical Society
https://www.sephardic.world/

Join main@groups.jewishgen.org to automatically receive all group messages.