Ashkenazim of Sephardic Origins? #sephardic #events


contact@...
 

Many Ashkenazi families have traditions of Sephardic ancestry. Are they true
and, if not, what is their origin? David Mendoza and Ton Tielen explore why
some Ashkenazi families have the belief of Sephardic origins, and review the
claims. What do the archives tell us about Sephardim living amongst
Ashkenazim in central and eastern Europe? What about DNA and stories passed
down families? We review the evidence.

Several Hassidic dynasties claim Sephardic ancestors. Is the SLONIK family
descended from King David, via ABARBANEL? What about the claims of ordinary
families? How about the MENDELEVITCH family from Poland which has a
tradition of MENDOZA ancestry? Is the TALALAY surname in Belarus of Slavic
origin or imported from Catalonia? Are claims of Sephardic ancestry true,
fabricated or mis-remembered? Join us for an entertaining discussion.

David Mendoza and Ton Tielen are administrators of The Sephardic Diaspora
group and the Sephardic Genealogy page on Facebook. They host the weekly
Sephardic World talks, and are founders of the Sephardic Genealogical
Society.

The meeting is on 14 November 2021 at 11am in LA, 2pm NYC, 7pm London, 8pm
Paris/Amsterdam and 9pm Jerusalem. Patrons can join us on Zoom.
Everyone is invited to join us for free at:
https://www.youtube.com/SephardicGenealogyAndHistory/ Please subscribe to
the YouTube channel. It helps us a lot and reminds you when we are going
live!

Best wishes,

David Mendoza and Ton Tielen
Sephardic World