A Moroccan Jewish Genealogical Journey #sephardic


contact@...
 

Through family lore and document-based genealogy, Raquel Levy-Toledano
'discovered' a great-grandfather born in Manchester, England. But what she
had been told was wrong! Genetic genealogy introduced her to a whole new
family: the Levy Belfsahi of Mogador in Morocco.

Her genealogical journey highlighted the need for better organised research
into Moroccan Jewish genealogy. Moroccan rabbinic lineages are
well-documented, but sources on other families are often inaccessible or
non-existent. Frequently the main source of information is oral family
history. Raquel shares her experience and offers guidance.

Raquel Levy-Toledano is a medical doctor and holds a PhD in biology. She
founded the Généalogie des Juifs du Maroc Facebook group in September 2019,
and it now has more than 4,000 members. She is curator at Geni where she
strives, with others, to connect Moroccan Jewish families and to restore
family ties that would otherwise be lost. She is a co-administrator of the
Avotaynu Y-DNA Project and recently co-founded NAJMA, a genealogical society
dedicated to Moroccan and Algerian Jews.

The meeting is on 10 October 2021 at 11am in LA, 2pm NYC, 7pm London, 8pm
Paris/Amsterdam and 9pm Jerusalem. Patrons can join us on Zoom. The link is
shared at our Patreon page at: https://www.patreon.com/sephardi

Everyone is invited to join us for free at:
https://www.youtube.com/SephardicGenealogyAndHistory/ Please subscribe to
the YouTube channel. It helps us a lot and reminds you when we are going
live!

Best wishes,

David Mendoza and Ton Tielen
Sephardic Genealogical Society