Topics

The Dutch Pimentel family - History and Holocaust #sephardic #announcements


David Mendoza
 

This week's Sephardic World Zoom meeting focuses on members of a Dutch
Sephardic family during the Holocaust. We are hoping to trace people saved
by Henriette Pimentel, and their family members.

The Pimentel are one of the oldest Sephardic families in The Netherlands.
Henk Dijkman will discuss the family history, stretching back to Medieval
Spain. Fokko Weerstra tells the story of Jacques Pimentel during the Shoah.
Along with some other Sephardim, he tried to use his distant Catholic
ancestry to escape deportation to Poland by the Nazis. Esther Shaya
discusses Henriette Pimentel - one of the unsung heroes of the Holocaust -
who saved the lives of six hundred children being held prisoner at the
Hollandsche Schouwburg-theatre.

The meeting is this Sunday, January 10, 2021 at 2pm NYC, 7pm London, 8pm
Amsterdam/Paris, 9pm Jerusalem. If you are not on our mailing list, you can
join us on Facebook at: https://www.facebook.com/sephardicgenealogy

All Sephardic World events are free.

Best wishes,

David Mendoza and Ton Tielen