Upcoming Programs from Forum for Dialogue on Krakow and Orla, Poland #poland #announcements #events


Mark Halpern
 

Below are links for two upcoming programs: Krakow on Thursday, September 30 and Orla (south of Bialystok) on Wednesday, October 6. Hope to see many of you at these online sessions.

Mark Halpern 

 
 

Dear Mark,

Let me invite you for the fall season of the Zoom in the Forum sessions starting next Thursday. From September 30th onwards, we will be meeting once a week to discuss history and culture of Polish Jews, local initiatives undertaken to preserve and commemorate Jewish past, education and academic research, as well as connections between contemporary Poland and Jewish people. Join us for more virtual tours of Polish towns and conversations with activists, experts, and scholars on Polish/Jewish relations. 
 
On Thursday, September 30th, we will kick off the Zoom in on the Forum fall edition with a discussion with Malgorzata Fus on the ways Jewish history of the city of Krakow is being described and narrated for tourists. Malgorzata, a graduate in Jewish Studies and a tour guide, will share her insight into the rich history of Krakow Jews inscribed into the city space and showcased in museums and by local guides. She will share with us lesser-known stories of Krakow Jews and analyze the stereotypical and romanticized version of the past presented to foreign tourists.  
 
Join us on Thursday, September 30th, at 3 am Australian Eastern, 10 am Pacific, 12 pm Central, 1 pm Eastern, 7 pm Warsaw, 8 pm Tel-Aviv time for a session on narrating Krakow.

REGISTER FOR THE ZOOM

On Wednesday, October 6th, we will meet with Marek Chmielewski, an activist, a farmer, and a village head of Orla, a small village in Bialystok region. It will be a great occasion to hear a person who aims at reclaiming Jewish heritage in a small community of 1,000 inhabitants. Marek is cooperating with different institutions and regional authorities to create a cultural center in the restored synagogue in Orla. During the Zoom in on the Forum session Marek Chmielewski will share his strategies of involving local community in preserving Jewish history of Orla 
 
Join us on Wednesday, October 6th, at 3 am Australian Eastern, 10 am Pacific, 12 pm Central, 1 pm Eastern, 7 pm Warsaw, 8 pm Tel-Aviv time and meet Marek Chmielewski, a Leader of Dialogue in Orla.

REGISTER FOR THE ZOOM

I am looking forward to seeing you on Zoom!

Yours,
Olga

Olga Kaczmarek
Director General