Why Wasn't Spinoza Excommunicated? #sephardic #announcements


contact@...
 

The Herem against Spinoza is famous, but what is a Herem? Is it an
excommunication? This week, Sephardic World welcomes Professor Yitzhak
Melamed, world expert on Spinoza.

In his Sephardic World talk this Sunday, Yitzhak Melamed will distinguish
between fact and fiction in this milestone of Sephardic history. He will
discuss the text of the Herem. Why did leaders of a community that had
itself faced persecution resort to this measure? Can we know their
motivations?

Yitzhak Melamed is professor in the Department of Philosophy at Johns
Hopkins University. He holds an MA in philosophy and the history of science
and logic from Tel Aviv University, and a PhD in philosophy from Yale
University. Amongst other accolades, he has been awarded Fulbright, Mellon,
and American Academy for Jewish Research Fellowships. He is currently
researching a book and documentary on Spinoza.

The meeting is on Sunday 9 January 2022, at 11am in LA, 2pm NYC, 7pm London,
8pm Paris/Amsterdam, and 9pm Jerusalem. Patrons can join us on Zoom. The
link is shared at our Patreon page at: https://www.patreon.com/sephardi

Everyone is invited to join us for free
at: https://www.youtube.com/SephardicGenealogyAndHistory Please subscribe to
the YouTube channel. It helps us a lot and reminds you when we are going
live!

Over the last year and a half Sephardic World has become the leading forum
for learning about Sephardic history and genealogy. We have no commercial
sponsorship or public funding. There is no charge to attend our meetings or
to view our content. If you are not a patron and can afford it, please
consider supporting our work: https://www.patreon.com/sephardi

Join our mailing list at: https://mailchi.mp/sephardicgenealogy/ars1w3v45e

Best wishes,

David Mendoza and Ton Tielen
Sephardic World
Sephardic Genealogical Society